Wheel Spinning

“Someone once gave me a box of darkness . . . this too was a gift”

I saw this quote on a Facebook page several months ago and it hit me like a ton of bricks.  My life has had a lot of ups and downs but in reviewing the past, every box of darkness contained some gift:  an opportunity to grow and learn more about myself; an opportunity to change a bad habit; an introduction to something new I might never have explored; and most of all that we have a choice in how we view events that happen to us.  We can choose to see them as good, bad or as just another opportunity to become a better version of ourselves.

I have always told stories to myself and my friends but I never considered myself a writer until an injury caused me to give up an identity I had created and held onto for most of my life.  I was a fiber artist working primarily in figurative art.  I loved it!  It fed my spirit in a way nothing else had.  I spent three years dealing with the stages of grief and questioning why the Universe would take something so precious – so fundamental to my existence – away from me.  Looking back, I see now that there was a plan.  So many wonderful things have come from that box of darkness that I no longer think of it as a bad thing.  I think of it as unfolding of another side of myself I never knew about.

There are many correlations between writing and figurative art that continually surprise me.  From the beginning stages of planning and drafting to each step in the process, they both feed my spirit in the same way.  I will always love being an artist but I also love that I can use the same creativeness in a new and different way.

In my life, a door was slammed shut but it resulted in all the windows blowing open.   B

Leave a Reply

