Writing 101

Writing a book was the easy part.  Learning how to become a published author is exhausting.  So many websites to visit and books to read.  My brain is so full tonight I can hardly hear the voices in my head.  Today I began learning about platforms and how to create and build them.  Yesterday I spent 5 hours trolling the AgentQuery website (http://www.agentquery.com/) reading all the posts.  So much information and it was a huge eye opener.  I have so much to learn and so much to do.  I feel a bit like Alice in Wonderland (except wonderland is a little confusing and frightening but also very exciting!).

I feel pretty lucky to have stumbled across Anne R Allen’s blog article, “I’ve Written a Book. Now What?  22 steps to Getting Published” (http://annerallen.blogspot.com/2012/04/ive-written-book-now-what-22-steps-to.html) at the beginning of my journey.

It gave me a hyper-realistic view of what to expect.  I love the humor but also the truth.  I’ve written three books now.  I wanted to know for sure this writing thing wasn’t a fluke or a one-off miracle.  I love it!  I absolutely love it!

One step at a time.  Just breathe!  B

 

One thought on “Writing 101

  1. I’m in the same boat as you. In the final phases of finishing up my manuscript, so now I’m tackling the business end of writing…social media platform, writing query letter and synopsis, researching agents…. It is a huge process and nowhere near as fun as writing a novel. Though I will admit blogging is turning out to be quite fun and I’m connecting with lots of other writers 🙂 Anyway, thanks for the website! Super helpful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

