Status Quo

I submitted to Pitchwars again this year. After pinging between hope and despair, I distracted myself with Korean and Chinese dramas, junk food and writing a depressing story. (Maybe that last item wasn’t such a good idea. Oops.)

A ton of talented people entered Pitchwars this year and the ratio is insane (like 5% chance of being chosen). Frankly, I have no hope of being selected, but I’m okay with that. Maybe it means I’m not ready. Maybe there were other writers more ready than me. There are a ton of reasons for not being selected. Sometimes the journey is better than the destination.

The best part of Pitchwars is the community that builds up around it. Lots of encouragement. Lots of helpful advice and information. Tons of articles. Tons of twitter feeds. I’m having fun meeting new people and making contacts. Hoping to even find a new critique partner.

My niece critiqued my entry this year. She would make a great editor! Unfortunately, I’m losing her to boys and Pokemon Go. (I’m betting on boys to win!) She’s at that age when the world opens up and new challenges present. I am lucky to live vicariously through her, but time is not on my side. She’s going to outgrow me. Not all at once and not altogether, but in a year, college and adventures she must experience on her own. Must not be greedy.

I have taken a few weeks off from writing to get some distance. Instead, I’m reading books by Pitchwars mentors. Very interesting and informative. I’ve also joined a Pitchwars subgroup for YA authors. Making contacts, meeting new people, and opening up my own world a bit.

August 25 Pitchwars Mentees will be revealed. Until them, I’m crossing my fingers and toes and praying for all the submissions to be selected and for those who are not, to go on to greater things!

Happy Giraffes! Belinda

Leave a Reply

